Favorites for now.

Sorry I’ve been a stranger. I’ve got a lot going on. I haven’t had a day off work in over a week. I’m taking an online accounting class. Ew.

In more exciting news, I just started a foundation called Sound of Soweto for the school that my family and I visit in Kenya. Check out the website! Its been a long time coming, and I’m just THRILLED that its finally happening. Praise the Lord! He is being so good.

Anyways, here’s some of my favorites for now. You know I’ll have new ones in a week, but this is what I’m loving now.

Favorite NEW THING: my Kelly Rae Roberts journal. It makes me SO happy to write in every day. I love her and want to be friends.

SEEKING GRATITUDE SKETCHBOOK

Favorite GRANOLA BAR: Bobo’s Oat Bars. Remember how much I looove granola bars? I’m not lying to you when I say this is my favorite all time. Yeah. Whoa is right. They’re only made in Boulder, CO, so non- Coloradoans, sorry. But you can order them online. I’m planning on ordering like 42 boxes of these when I go back to school.

Favorite COLOR COMBO: I’m in decorating mode since I’m about to move into my new apartment in about a month. Thinking these colors would make me happy every day.

 Which leads me to… Favorite STYLE ITEM: My new Mint Sorbet nail polish. It’s in the scheme. It makes me happy. The joy you can get from a dollar these days.

Favorite THINKER BOOK: Erasing Hell by Frances Chan. He spoke at the Cru Conference where my parents are for work. He was a gifted speaker and he truly loved Jesus. Things gonna be changin’ up in there. Anyways, this book is so timely, with all the controversial books and questions recently about hell and whether or not everyone goes to heaven. He goes right to Scripture, doesn’t take passages out of context, and delivers some hard truth that should make anyone think seriously about their destiny. Read it.

 Favorite TIME WASTER: Pinterest y’all is AWESOME. One of my friends said, “Its like ESPN for women.” If you don’t have one, get one. You will thank me.

Favorite HOMEMADE CONCOCTION: Mean Green Couscous. It has snap peas, cucumber, green onions, pistachios, and FETAAAA. I wanted to use up the rest of my box of couscous, so I made this. Its real good and a fun twist on the traditional Couscous Tabbouleh. Recipe coming soon.

Favorite PERSPECTIVE BOOK: The Prodigal God by Tim Keller. My dad and I read his book The Reason for God together and now we’re reading this one. He is a great writer and offers a new perspective into the story of the prodigal son, by claiming that we have, more than anything, a prodigal God. 

 And my NUMBER ONE FAVORITE THING, that gets two shout outs in one post, is the Sound of Soweto. I am just so blessed by the Lord and excited to see what He has in store for the Sound of Soweto and our relationship with Soweto Academy.

Take a good look at me, God, my God;
I want to look life in the eye,
So no enemy can get the best of me
or laugh when I fall on my face.
I’ve thrown myself headlong into your arms— 
      I’m celebrating your rescue. 
 I’m singing at the top of my lungs, 
      I’m so full of answered prayers.

Psalm 13:3-6 (The Message)

2 Comments

Filed under I'm Lovin.

2 responses to “Favorites for now.

  1. Kenzi Johnson

    Katie, Miss Reno started reading Prodigal God to us in AP English, but we never finished…is it really good? I might have to pick up a copy. 🙂 I love reading your blog by the way, keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

