Cake Pops!

Like I said, I’m a dreamer.

And, I gotta admit something I have been in denial about. Truth is, as much as I would like to, I probably won’t do all the things I say that I claim that I will do…

Like becoming famous for my dancing skills. (You can ‘Amen’ to that one if you have ever seen me dance..)

Or having a vacation house in every country.

Or owning my own safari park where I am friends with all the giraffes and zebras and elephants.

However, I wouldn’t bet against myself on doing realistic things like traveling to exotic places, being a successful entrepreneur, and making a lasting difference for the Kingdom of Christ. These dreams are already in the making thanks to my Jesus, so hold your horses folks. You don’t want to miss this. I, in fact, greatly enjoy doing the things that I say I would like to do. Like when I said I would make some of these:

  

We had our friend Megan over the other night for her birthday, and I got put in charge of dessert. (They knew me well when they dished out our duties.) I think that nine times out of ten, birthday cake is grooooss, and I about died over the cake pops at my brother’s wedding. I made a promise to myself to make some, and I was determined to keep it. So I did. They were kinda messy since it was my first go, but forget about the way they look…

Ok, I take that back. Don’t forget. They look delicious. And they were.

They were AWESOME. Moist. Perfectly vanilla-y, and perfectly chocalatey. Not too much, not too little. Cute. Happy. Wonderful. I cannot wait to make other flavors and decorative cake pops in the very near future.

If its your birthday, tell me, so I can make them for you.

Even if its not your birthday, tell me to make them for you.

Even if you don’t tell me to make them for you, I willl.

But I guess if you don’t want me to make them for you, make them yourself. Even though that might hurt my feelings. But I’ll forgive you and give you two ways to make these. You’re welcome!

The From Scratch Way Ingredients:

Vanilla Cake:

  • 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup milk
Chocolate Frosting:
  • 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons 1% milk
  • 1 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup butter
The Lazy Way Ingredients:
  • 1 box vanilla cake mix
  • 1 can of chocolate frosting
For Both:
  • Sprinkles
  • Chocolate you can melt (you can use white chocolate, semi-sweet, dark, whatever you like. I used Baker’s Semi-sweet squares)
  • Some kind of skewer to stick the cake balls in
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350.
For the Cake:
For the ‘From Scratch’ Way, mix the dry ingredients in a bowl.
In a separate bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. One at a time, mix the eggs in. Add vanilla.
Then add the milk and flour to the wet bowl, alternating between the two.
Pour the batter into a cake pan and bake for 15-25 minutes. (Use the toothpick method to see if its done.)
For the ‘Lazy Way‘, just make the cake however the box tells you.
Remove the cake from the oven and let it cool.
For the Frosting: 
For the ‘From Scratch‘ frosting, combine the sugar and cocoa first and then add the milk and vanilla. Stir together. Beat in the butter until light and fluffy frosting appears.
For the ‘Lazy Way‘, open the can. Nuff said.
Cake Pop Assembly:
  1. Once the cake has cooled, destroy it by breaking it into little pieces with your fingers until it looks like bread crumbs. Put in a bowl.
  2. Add in 2/3 of the frosting to the crumbs and mix well. (For the box mix, add little by little until the cake just sticks together well enough. You can eyeball it. Not hard.) Note: you can never have too much chocolate frosting so make it to your liking.
  3. Take a spoon and scoop out an even amount of cake/ frosting mixture and roll it into a ball. Set it aside and do the same with the rest of the mixture.
  4. To decorate, melt your melting chocolate in the microwave in 30 second increments until melted. Dip the end of a skewer in the chocolate, then stick it in a cake ball. (This helps the sticks not slide off.) Do the same with the rest of the skewers until all the cake balls have a skewer.
  5. Now, with each cake pop, dip it into the chocolate mixture, smooth it over with a knife or extra skewer, and coat with sprinkles. This is probably the hardest part, but you will figure out a method that works for you. Once you have chocolat-ized and sprinkled each cake pop, I suggest putting them in the fridge so the chocolate can harden. (Once the chocolate is hard, they can store outside of the fridge.)

Now, wave your cake pops in the air like you just don’t care and sing the happy birthday song to someone (even if its noones birthday..) Prepare to be amazed and feel like a professional baker. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

