Couscous Tabbouleh.

I’m callin’ out all you lazy people with this one. Including me.

I, too, am guilty of buying pre-made sides and pre-made meals. Its obviously so much easier and some people come up with some pretty good stuff that I probably wouldn’t come up with on my own. But I learned a couple lessons with this recipe:

Lesson 1: Everything tastes better homemade. (I think its the secret ingredient – the satisfaction and accomplishment of doing it yourself – that makes it taste so good.) (Disclaimer: If you do it right. Things don’t taste better if you burn them or put salt in instead of sugar or something like that.)

Lesson 2: This recipe makes life easier. For 4 days I didn’t have to make a side, think about a side, or buy another pre-made side. This was just waiting for me in the fridge every day, just sitting there in its mediterranean deliciousness.

Lesson 3: I should move to Israel. I only learned this because I brought the leftovers to my G-ma’s house last night for our 4th of July party. She got really excited and exclaimed that I would eat great in Israel (she goes a lot and apparently they eat this there). So let me know if you would like to contribute to my plane ticket and house fund so I can eat my homemade tabbouleh in my Israeli villa.

So if you are looking for some self-satisfaction and sense of accomplishment, need a recipe for simplifying your life, and would like to move to Israel with me, make this:

Couscous Tabbouleh:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups couscous
  • 2 cups chopped fresh parsley or cilantro (I used cilantro and only used like 1/2 a cup, but you do what you want. Just feel it.)
  • 1 1/3 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup chopped cucumber
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 3 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tsp salt
Directions:
Cook the couscous according to the package directions and let cool. Stir in the rest of the ingredients.
Um, easiest thing ever. You can’t mess it up. Lazy ones, there are no excuses.
Get your couscous on!
Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

