The Healing is Beautiful.

I wish that you could have been in church with me this morning. My family was gone today, so I went alone. But instead of being lonely, I had a moment with God. God always knows, doesn’t He?

We’re going through the book of Mark, and today my pastor spoke about the healings by Jesus that take up a third of the entire book (so they’re obviously very important). There was so much said that I would love to share with you, but this is the part that got to me. You can be cured and not healed. And you can be healed and not cured. When Jesus cured 10 lepers in Luke 17, only 1 returned to Him to praise Him for what He had done. It was only then that He said to that man, “Rise and go, your faith has made you well.”  The whole story is about 9 men who were cured and only 1 who was truly healed.

We hail doctors and nurses and researchers for finding cures to all the awful diseases and illnesses that hurt us and the ones we love. I speak from experience when I say-  Praise the Lord for the gift of doctors and medicine that He has given us! But Paul, the greatest evangelist to ever live, tells us in 2 Corinthians 12:1-10 that his thorn never left. He was never cured. He could have been angry with God and said, “Lord, I want to do great things for You. Why won’t you just make me feel better so I can?!” Sound familiar? But he doesn’t say that. Instead he says,

But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you for my power is made perfect in weakness. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (vs. 9-10)

Paul was not cured. But Paul was healed. Paul was sick, but he was whole, and he was delighted. He had a relationship with Jesus that he wouldn’t trade for all the health in the world.

Like I’m sure many of you, I have had a physical and emotional thorn for quite a while. I have been cured, only to be knocked down again and again by sickness and the devil’s schemes. The devil will settle for me being cured and physically healthy, but he does not want to see me healed because that would mean HE LOST. But finally I see that JESUS IS MY HEALER, and He is healing me from the inside out. What a long journey of ups and downs it has been, but how necessary it was. I have learned the difference between being cured and being really healed.

Don’t get me wrong, curing and health is so so important and necessary, but I LOVE and NEED the healing so much more. He is binding up every broken part of me and drawing me closer to Himself every day in such a real way I can hardly stand myself. I can finally say that I delight in my weakness and in my sickness because the healing would not be necessary without it. And the healing is SO BEAUTIFUL. I wouldn’t trade my thorn for the most beautiful rose in the garden. But the thorn has to be attached to something. Thank God its a rose. Don’t focus on the thorn so much that you miss the radiant rose its attached to.

I found myself with teary eyes at the end of church thanking the Lord and saying,

What a new heart You are giving to me!

What a new and intensely satisfying intimacy I have with You!

What LIFE You are giving to me!

Your grace is not simply sufficient, Lord,

Your grace is MORE THAN ENOUGH.

Friends, whether you or a loved one is suffering with illness, addiction, or emotional struggles- Healing is available. Jesus is here. The kingdom is near. Do not stop praying for a cure. Do not stop striving for health. But, I beg you, don’t neglect healing. It will be more beautiful than any cure anyone could ever find.

Sorry for the length of this post, but my moment could not go un-shared. Bless you for reading. Now go enjoy the sunshine and some Jesus!

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirations.

One response to “The Healing is Beautiful.

  1. Mom

    Looking forward to sitting in church w you this Sunday:) Your blog continues to bring me closer to understanding who Jesus really is to me. Thank you, daughter and much love.

Leave a Reply

