Homemade Granola Bars

Something you should know about me. I love granola bars. I think I would rather get an Easter basket full of yummy granola bars and fruity bars and chocolate bars (especially chocolate) than an Easter basket full of candy and bunnies. My stages of life are marked by my current granola bar brand. That is potentially embarrassing, but they are good stuff, fellow snackers. I trust that you won’t judge.

But I have a problem. I eat them so often that I get tired of the same ones day after day. Thankfully, there are a gajillion different kinds of bars out there so I have plenty variety to choose from. Some of my favorites now are Earnest Bars, ProBars, and the good old Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars. They are all delicious and nutritious and come in loads of great flavors!

What’s on the top of your awesome bar list? Comment with your favorites and I’ll be sure to give it a try!

Anyways, yesterday I ran out of my last Earnest bar and didn’t want to go to the store, so I decided I should make my own. It was also another excuse to get some photography practice. I adapted these bars from Marci Gilbert. They turned out great. The only thing I might change is adding a little more cinnamon and maybe a little honey. The fun thing about them is that you can make them your own. Add chocolate chips, different kinds of fruit and nuts, coconut, or whatever else you like!

Homemade Granola Bars:

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats.
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit (I used craisins and golden raisins.)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 egg
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • In two separate bowls, mix wet and dry ingredients. Pour wet into dry, mixing until combined. (It will look kinda soupy, but no worries- the oats will soak up all the milk in the oven!)
  • Pour batter into a square baking dish lined with parchment paper. I used 9 x 9.
  • Bake for 30 minutes. Let them cool, then cut them into bars and serve!
Refrigerating them is probably the best way to keep them. Put the ones you’ll eat soon in the fridge and you can freeze the rest. They are delicious alone, but even better with some peanut butter or almond butter slathered on top! Enjoy!
My aunt also made some KILLER butterscotch cookies, so here’s a picture of those. I can’t even tell you how wonderfully mouth-watering our kitchen smelled.
Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!
– Psalm 34:8
1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Homemade Granola Bars

  1. So glad you found my blog and enjoyed the bars! I have all mine in the freezer too.

Leave a Reply

