Love to the sky.

25+ Breathtaking examples of Natural Sky Photography

Today I listened to a sermon by Tim Keller, the pastor of Redeemer Church in NY. It was called ‘The Wounded Spirit’.

What wounds your spirit? What steals your joy and takes away the sparkle in your eye and your passion for life?

A wounded spirit not only hurts on the inside, but it hurts on the outside too. I’m sure you’ve experienced it. I most definitely have. You can’t run from a wounded spirit. You can’t hide a wounded spirit. Its all over your face. It consumes your mind. It even makes you sick sometimes. There is no feeling more helpless than having the life sucked out of your heart.

Ever feel like no one understands you, especially your scars? Well, no one does. And honestly, you don’t even understand the very bottom of your soul. And when you realize something like that, how helpless do you feel? I can attest firsthand to hitting the bottom and feeling completely and utterly alone- like a foreigner in my home and an alien in my own body. I reached for things, good and moral things, that I imagined would satisfy and quench my thirsty soul. But nothing delivered. Tim Keller says that we’re all longing for “something we remember but we’ve never had“. We can imagine how things could be perfect, but we’ve never gotten a taste of true and complete satiation. Life can be one bummer after another sometimes, huh?

But that’s not the end of my story. In my loneliness, I realized that I was alone with the One and only One that understood the very depths of my soul. I’m pretty sure that anyone that really knew the depths of my soul would be pretty disgusted at what they saw. What about you? But get this.

The only eyes who can see to the bottom love you to the sky. 

The perfect and matchless God, who is perfect and pure to the very depths of His soul (and who should be repulsed by the bottom of mine) sees me and loves me to the sky. He is the ‘something I remember but I’ve never had’. And one day, when I see Him face to face, I will fall down in overwhelming joy because I won’t be able to stand the strength my spirit will get at that moment. It will be everything I have ever dreamed of and more. To meet LOVE face to face. It’ll just knock me out.

Want a taste? Check out a infinite color-filled sky on a cloudless night and experience the Lover of your soul. He’s painting for you. Sit back and get some healing for that wounded spirit, friend.

He loves you to the sky.

7 Comments

Filed under Inspirations.

7 responses to “Love to the sky.

  1. Michelle

    Katie, you are amazing! Love this!!!!!! It is refreshing to my soul 🙂

  2. Ellen

    could i be any more inspired…encouraged…and feeling loved right now. Katie … you have a GIFT. enough said 🙂 miss u.

  3. Mom

    I feel loved:) thanks, daughter

  4. Becky

    So encouraging! I really needed to read this today. Thanks Katie!

  5. Kelly

    Hmm…good stuff. REALLY good stuff.

    Thanks for sharing, Katie.

  6. eric nelson

    some deeps thoughts there daughter. you are a bringing life to others with your writing and pictures… including me

  7. Gpa Nelson

    What an awesome way to start out my Sunday………Thanks Gpa

Leave a Reply

